Freedom is not being another brick in the Wall


It should be very modest in accepting the fact that I am not a frequent blogger.Sometimes a complacent blogger too , who doesn’t blogs about the things that really matter , like I wanted to write about DASAVATHARAM movie review(Five Hour movie cramped into Three hour), Hancock Movie Review(the most unexpected flop from Will Smith),Yelagiri trip (where I discovered that my Inspirational Boss loves Volleyball very much, probably more than his Violin ….) and recently on Abhinav Bhindra (actually didn’t want to say , “India needs sportsmen like Abhinav” but wanted to say “India needs sports culture”.This was the same statement I made in my 12th standard on Extempore competition about Karnam Malleshwari and Kalpana Chawla,who are being worshipped as quality products of Indian beareucratic system that produces atleast one Medal in every olympics.After reading this beautifully written blog,I felt one needs to have had a proper English teacher in your high school , in order to express one’s thoughts with inexplicable expressiveness).

Anyway,I blog to vent out my random thoughts that occur to me.Today I wanted to blog something related Independence.I have , in the initial days of my life , been inquisitive and very disruptive , a kind of Trouble maker…..in precise words Independent.Then started a 16 year plan to restrict my imagination , control my thoughts and learn to live like others and be a “Brick in the Wall”.After a zombie four year course in Engineering , I was a perfect flawless product , just as intended be the Indian Education System.I am not blaming the system here , infact the Indian Education system , encourages self-made personalities and those who are not ready for this , are made a part of the system.I would be happy if that system works …but it’s not.Even after my education was over , I was into another trap which many Indian IT professionals fall prey to……..Onsite Assignment,even if the nature of job sucks.I feel proud of myself that I have somehow taken intial steps towards the real Independence every human being deserves.I am no longer in the RAT RACE to onsite assignment.Most of my friends have already travelled the foreign lands and regulary update the orkut albums with photos taken with wax figures of George Bush, Micheal Jackson, Mahatma Gandhi ….

From the day we are named by our parents we hardly introspect “is this the life you were sent for ?” “Are we free?” “Are we independent?” “Is our imagination free or controlled by the whims of peer pressure?”

I believe Independence is not physical , it’s spiritual.

We got independence from the British , 61 years ago.I think we are still a long way to achieve the real independence.

Remember , We still have to fill the caste column in the school admission forms.We are still having small kids working to win bread for the family instead of getting the basic education.We still feel proud to say my “shoes are imported”.

It would be too futuristic to say the international boundaries will fade away and the whole Earth will be ruled by Google and of course Web 2.0 will be the answer for all the challenges in ruling such a huge planet.For now , I am still proud to be an Indian though not to the extent I used to be during my school days when I used to hoist hand made paper flags on my table on Independence day and think “How lucky I am , that I am born in India”…..now I think “What if I was born in some parallel universe as a female Anopheles Mosquito? “

Leave a Reply

