What does ‘Bikini’ blue mean for Linux Geeks


I got discharged only yesterday from the hospital and here I am on my laptop blogging and vandalizing my greatest investment of my life so far…my website hosted on Bluehost.com

Anyways,I am trying to deploy a Rails application on my webserver.While doing that I discovered how poor I am when it comes to linux.I am not good in linux though I love it.

So the following image is not for the LINUX EXTREMISTS who could go mad seeing the simplicity of the question I am posting here.It’s for those who love Linux and want the world to be baptised with linux.See the SSH terminal below and can u guys please explain me the meaning of each color.

Blue is for Folder ; Green is a File what is for that 'Twitter' Blue?

Blue is for Folder ; Green is a File what is for that 'Twitter' Blue?

BLUE is for Folder (I guess) and the GREEN is for Filenames. What does  those in ‘Twitter’ Blue or ‘Bikini’ blue colored ones mean.Also what is the meaning of @ symbol at the end of it and what does “.” (DOT) mean which are in front of the file names like (.contactemail, .my.cnf)

5 responses to “What does ‘Bikini’ blue mean for Linux Geeks

  1. Symbolic Links.

  2. Symbolic links ???

    Please can you be little more precise ?

  3. Uncle Theodore suggested me of this site
    http://linux-sxs.org/housekeeping/lscolors.html

    when I did echo $LS_COLORS on the terminal I got this ::::

    no=00:fi=00:di=01;34:ln=01;36:pi=40;33:so=01;35:do=01;35:bd=40;33;01:cd=40;33;01:or=40;31;01:ex=01;32:*.tar=01;31:*.tgz=01;31:*.arj=01;31:*.taz=01;31:*.lzh=01;31:*.zip=01;31:*.z=01;31:*.Z=01;31:*.gz=01;31:*.bz2=01;31:*.deb=01;31:*.rpm=01;31:*.jar=01;31:*.jpg=01;35:*.jpeg=01;35:*.gif=01;35:*.bmp=01;35:*.pbm=01;35:*.pgm=01;35:*.ppm=01;35:*.tga=01;35:*.xbm=01;35:*.xpm=01;35:*.tif=01;35:*.tiff=01;35:*.png=01;35:*.mov=01;35:*.mpg=01;35:*.mpeg=01;35:*.avi=01;35:*.fli=01;35:*.gl=01;35:*.dl=01;35:*.xcf=01;35:*.xwd=01;35:*.ogg=01;35:*.mp3=01;35:*.wav=01;35:

    so…..bikini blue is CYAN I guess ..it means what ?

  4. the . in the front it actually part of the file name and makes it a hidden file. Normally they only show up when you do a ls -a so I’m not sure what’s up with that. Cyan is a symbolic link. You can get there from here but here is not where it is. ls -al will tell you where it is. Not sure about the @ symbol but then again I’m not sure why you’re hidden files are showing up either. Me thinks your host has some custom setup going on.

    pinastro: Thanks ! that was really informative

  5. the @ is for symbolic link
    What you need to know for these things is to understand the way colors are represented and the way they are used in console. You can see the contents of .dir_colors to see the colors that would be used, if it exists. If it does not then you can create it to define the colors that you want to use.
    BTW, you should always look for the alias that ls is using to make sure what is actually being executed. Just execute “alias ls”

    If confused, you can search for scripts that display console colors. These scripts will help you map the color to the code. Hope that would be of some help.

Leave a Reply

